Thomas W. Harbison MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 232 Ratings
  • 32 Comments

he really listens

August 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Over the many years I've gone to *Dr. Harbison he's been an excellent physician. He's also taken time to talk to his patients & get to know them, which adds to his effectiveness. I really appreciate his good care.

June 25, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The staff was very helpful, and the doctor was very understanding and took care of the problem. I was very pleased.

April 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Harbison & his nurse assistant - [name] - are a great team. Both are very attentive to you and your needs.

April 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Harbison is fantastic provider and very good at coordinating care. Some docs seem to become less responsive over time...he is opposite. Very engaged and supportive.

April 17, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He remembered and asked about my husband and artwork. Is that just a "technique"? It didn't seem so. Seemed personal and real. Warmed me to the marrow! He also took the time to go beyond the scope of the initial reason for the visit, to include a routine pap test. GREAT savings of my time and money. Thank you!

April 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like my Doctor.

February 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am every lucky having *Doctor Thomas Harbison as my primary care doctor.

February 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Harbison is never rushed, listens, and makes me feel as if he knows me and is my personal primary care physician.

February 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I did not feel like the provider listened to my concerns. I was recommended medication before any other options. I was not asked about my family or personal medical history in regards to what I was seeing the doctor about. I felt like he didn't care

January 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor Harbson was awesome! i wish he was my personal physician. He did an outstanding job!

January 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care. *Dr. Hargison and his assistant [name] are a perfect team! Highly recommended.

December 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent visit!

December 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Harbison is my PCP. He's pleasant, helpful and informative. I came back to Kaiser because of him!

October 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service.

October 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

a very good Dr.

October 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Harbison is always thorough and courteous, and always asks if I have additional concerns about my health.

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doc provides me with an excellent Quality of life.I am sticking close to him for a planed long good life. He walks on water.

October 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It is always a pleasure to see *Dr. Harbison and the staff at the Kaiser office. *Dr. Harbison is thoughtful about my health, friendly and knowledgeable!!

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really happy with dr., staff and care.

August 30, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My physician noted my concerns about a problem I had that was not the focus of the initial appointment. He then was able to get an xray immediately and revisit with me shortly after to review the results. Not having to come in for another appointment to address the problem was impressive.

June 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR. HARBISON IS GREAT! ALWAYS LISTENS AND IS RIGHT ON TARGET. SUPPER GUY!

June 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have total confidence in *Dr. Harbison & his assistant. They are tops.

June 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All very good. He usually finds a good balance between explanation and time limits for the appointment.

May 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Harbison is a great physician and a great guy.

April 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have always had a positive & helpful experience with *Dr. Harbeson & his staff.

March 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience with provider. He listened to my concerns and was respectful when I opted out of something he suggested. He was professional, showed care, and I have already recommended him to others.

February 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom Harbison is an excellent care provider. I have recommended him to a number of my friends and my husband.

January 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He seemed concerned about my illnesses. // I would highly recommend this doctor!

December 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Harbison was exceptional. I would recommend him wholeheartedly.

October 27, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good experience, listened well, answer questions, concerns I had....

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The care provider has been very concerned about my health and well being. They just have to listen to me when I mention a problem beyond that and try to accommodate me. Dr. was unable to get to me and as a result I was late. he mentioned that this happens.

August 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am a graduate of Medical College of Virginia/ Virginia Commonwealth University (1997) and Providence Portland Medical Center (2000). I'm also a member of American College of Physicians and I recently re-certified my boards (2010). I chose internal medicine and remain happy with my practice, as I enjoy the diversity of patient care. I was born in Iowa and raised in Richmond, Virginia but am happily transplanted to Portland, Oregon.

About my practice

My practice is quite diverse with ages from 18 to 97 currently. I enjoy caring for the entire individual and tailoring their care for best results. I am a firm believer in preventive care and want individuals to practice healthy practices. I push individuals to eat well, exercise regularly, and do the things they love.

How I thrive

My personal interests focus first on being active with my family. I push myself to get regular exercise. Hobbies include hiking, downhill skiing, surfing, voice training, and guitar. I have a master's degree in history of religion, but now enjoy reading Patrick O'Brien novels the most.

Medical School ?

Virginia Commonwealth University, Medical College of Virginia
Richmond

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Providence Medical Center
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine