Thomas W. Harbison MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office East
3550 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 222 Ratings
  • 40 Comments

Dr Harbison does an excellent job listening and providing care advice. He's proactive ensuring appropriate tests are performed as needed.

May 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm very pleased with my care provider.

March 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am fortunate to have Dr. Hsalberson as my primary care physician. It might be as long as 12 years or so now

February 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As always, it was a very good experience. Dr. Harbison is always very efficient and has a great way about him, as does his assistant.

February 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Harbison is great!

January 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Harbison is among the best at KP!

January 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Harbison has been my care provider for over 13 years. I am lucky to have him in my corner

January 08, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Harbison is the best in the system. He came to wound care several times to personally check on a foot wound. He has always referred me to specialist as needed.

December 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have been Dr Harbison's patient for 16 years - he is absolutely great

October 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Harbison has always respected my intelligence and my time.

September 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I almost never fill out surveys, and am doing so in this instance out of respect for Dr. Harbison and his staff.

August 31, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

he really listens

August 16, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Over the many years I've gone to *Dr. Harbison he's been an excellent physician. He's also taken time to talk to his patients & get to know them, which adds to his effectiveness. I really appreciate his good care.

June 26, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The staff was very helpful, and the doctor was very understanding and took care of the problem. I was very pleased.

April 27, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Harbison & his nurse assistant - [name] - are a great team. Both are very attentive to you and your needs.

April 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Harbison is fantastic provider and very good at coordinating care. Some docs seem to become less responsive over time...he is opposite. Very engaged and supportive.

April 18, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He remembered and asked about my husband and artwork. Is that just a "technique"? It didn't seem so. Seemed personal and real. Warmed me to the marrow! He also took the time to go beyond the scope of the initial reason for the visit, to include a routine pap test. GREAT savings of my time and money. Thank you!

April 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I like my Doctor.

March 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Harbison is never rushed, listens, and makes me feel as if he knows me and is my personal primary care physician.

February 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I did not feel like the provider listened to my concerns. I was recommended medication before any other options. I was not asked about my family or personal medical history in regards to what I was seeing the doctor about. I felt like he didn't care

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doctor Harbson was awesome! i wish he was my personal physician. He did an outstanding job!

January 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent care. *Dr. Hargison and his assistant [name] are a perfect team! Highly recommended.

December 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent visit!

December 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Harbison is my PCP. He's pleasant, helpful and informative. I came back to Kaiser because of him!

October 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent service.

October 20, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

a very good Dr.

October 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Harbison is always thorough and courteous, and always asks if I have additional concerns about my health.

October 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Doc provides me with an excellent Quality of life.I am sticking close to him for a planed long good life. He walks on water.

October 03, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It is always a pleasure to see *Dr. Harbison and the staff at the Kaiser office. *Dr. Harbison is thoughtful about my health, friendly and knowledgeable!!

August 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My physician noted my concerns about a problem I had that was not the focus of the initial appointment. He then was able to get an xray immediately and revisit with me shortly after to review the results. Not having to come in for another appointment to address the problem was impressive.

June 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

DR. HARBISON IS GREAT! ALWAYS LISTENS AND IS RIGHT ON TARGET. SUPPER GUY!

June 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

All very good. He usually finds a good balance between explanation and time limits for the appointment.

May 25, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Harbison is a great physician and a great guy.

April 13, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have always had a positive & helpful experience with *Dr. Harbeson & his staff.

March 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great experience with provider. He listened to my concerns and was respectful when I opted out of something he suggested. He was professional, showed care, and I have already recommended him to others.

February 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Tom Harbison is an excellent care provider. I have recommended him to a number of my friends and my husband.

January 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He seemed concerned about my illnesses. // I would highly recommend this doctor!

December 09, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Harbison was exceptional. I would recommend him wholeheartedly.

October 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good experience, listened well, answer questions, concerns I had....

August 25, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The care provider has been very concerned about my health and well being. They just have to listen to me when I mention a problem beyond that and try to accommodate me. Dr. was unable to get to me and as a result I was late. he mentioned that this happens.

August 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am a graduate of Medical College of Virginia/ Virginia Commonwealth University (1997) and Providence Portland Medical Center (2000). I'm also a member of American College of Physicians and I recently re-certified my boards (2010). I chose internal medicine and remain happy with my practice, as I enjoy the diversity of patient care. I was born in Iowa and raised in Richmond, Virginia but am happily transplanted to Portland, Oregon.

About my practice

My practice is quite diverse with ages from 18 to 97 currently. I enjoy caring for the entire individual and tailoring their care for best results. I am a firm believer in preventive care and want individuals to practice healthy practices. I push individuals to eat well, exercise regularly, and do the things they love.

How I thrive

My personal interests focus first on being active with my family. I push myself to get regular exercise. Hobbies include hiking, downhill skiing, surfing, voice training, and guitar. I have a master's degree in history of religion, but now enjoy reading Patrick O'Brien novels the most.

Medical School ?

Virginia Commonwealth University, Medical College of Virginia
Richmond

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Providence Medical Center
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine