Trevor H. Hay OD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Interstate Medical Office Central
3600 North Interstate Ave.
Portland, OR 97227

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.3
    Wait Time
  • 4.6
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 271 Ratings
  • 34 Comments

Great experience. Pleasant and not stressful, even though I was told about my worsening cataracts. I was informed of the malady in a very nice way.

June 19, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

not happy about eye exam at all. dr was brusk, I felt bullied and rushed during the exam

June 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hay is the best!

May 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Greatly appreciated the attention and information offered.

May 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Hay was delightful. Explained everything as we went. Very nice manner. // I have already recommended Dr Hay to a friend who is looking for an eye dr.

April 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hay is always very good!

March 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Hay is wonderful with a warm personality and very knowledgable.

February 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was pleased and impressed that Dr. Hay was able to discuss the benefits of a plant-based diet for eye health, including specific nutrients and what foods to eat. Also the first item on the written material I received at the end of the benefit recommended eating a plant-based diet, which I already follow and advocate.

December 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This provider was very nice and thorough.

December 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very personable and efficient.

November 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr hay provides excellent service and very clearly explains information in simple and patient terms

November 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

although I told the provider I wanted a softer prescription and why I had to push to get it and he was condescending in his handling of the matter. Additionally, when I asked a serious question about eye protection he chuckled and didn't answer the question until I asked a second time!

November 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

dr hay is very qualified, friendly and thorough.

October 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hay and staff ([name]) were all great. Short waits, attentive, great service.

October 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Really a first class experience. Everyone in America should have such quality care.

October 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Hay and his optician work very well together and provide an excellent experience. They are professional, efficient and friendly. I am in good hands with Dr Hay!

September 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Gave me a thorough and detailed explanation of his finding and provided me with the information I needed to care for my eyes. Very personable and professional.

September 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hay is among the very best providers I've seen over my 30+ years as a member.

July 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hayes was totally wonderful. He spent an enormous amount of time patiently answering all of my questions. I learned a lot during the visit, and will be sure to schedule with him the next time I need a contact lens appointment!

June 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good experience. Doctor upbeat and helpful.

May 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really liked him and will go back if I need glasses or contacts or have any more eye problems

May 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hay was terrific. He listen to my concerns and struggles with my eyes. He did a complete exam and talked with me about solutions and his recommendations. My visit was very thorough and successful.

April 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was told at the end of the appointment by the doctor that I now have retinopathy--and a brief explanation as to what was going on--words to the effect of-I see areas that are showing blood vessels are larger than normal and that he might expect to see that after 10 years with Type 2 diabetes and that was it. I was a little overwhelmed in that I knew a little about retinopathy, and was alarmed, but I felt like he dropped a bomb and then walked out.

March 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Trevor Hay is an excellent provider - never feels rushed, very thorough, even understands benefits.

March 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good visit. No complaints!

February 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was a routine exam. He answered my questions about long-term eye health.

February 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt very good about the visit with Dr. Hay, his suggestions for over-the-counter eye drops for treating dry eye, and his interest in my vision care generally.

January 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Trevor was very patient, kind and and was thorough regarding my eye exam!!

January 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

he's great, really down to earth, very much appreciated. // everyone was very nice, I really liked Dr. Hay

December 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was in and out in a reasonable amount of time. Dr Hay was knowledgeable and personable. It was overall a great experience.

November 23, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hay was very helpful and friendly.

October 15, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was extremely pleased by dr hay. Everything was explained clearly, I did not feel rushed, and felt listened to.

October 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hay was great. I had an outstanding experience.

October 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was a wonderful experience, everything was smooth and quick.

August 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Originally from Colorado, I have lived in beautiful Portland for 20 years. I chose optometry as my career during undergraduate studies while at Colorado State University where I earned my B.S. in Zoology. I worked at an Army military hospital in Alaska prior to graduating, then completed a residency in cornea and contact lens prior to coming to Kaiser Permanente in a part-time capacity in 1997. In 2004, I sold my private practice and joined Kaiser Permanente as a full-time provider. My partner is a psychologist and we have three crazy dogs named Henry, Oskar, and Finn.

About my practice

Practicing at Kaiser Permanente has enabled me to practice in the best environment possible with collaborative health care. I am one of the contact lens optometrists and specialize in astigmatism, multifocal, and post-surgical contact lenses.

How I thrive

I am extremely active outside while not at work! You'll regularly find me paddling on the Willamette River most evenings/weekends with my dragon boat and outrigger canoe teams in which we compete in many races throughout the west coast. I also run marathons, Hood-to-Coast, hike, snow-shoe, ski, weight lift, practice yoga, and have recently entered into the world of triathlon. I travel to Hawaii a few times per year for the sun and paddling and often return with renewed appreciation for my local paddling and fitness 'ohana' ('family' in Hawaiian).

Medical School ?

Pacific University
Forest Grove

Medical Training ?

Contact Lens
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Optometry
Pacific University
Forest Grove OR

Board Certification ?