Uhng-Choon B. Shim MD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Gateway Medical Office
1700 NE 102nd Ave
Portland, OR 97220

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.3
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.7
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 154 Ratings
  • 51 Comments

I was especially grateful that Dr Shim took care of my letter requesting a healthy goal weight that I could use for my weight maintenance program. She did so electronically and by mail. I am somewhat accustomed to having to track down such items myself because I did not leave the office with the letter, but Dr Shim took care of it without any prompting.

July 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shim is really amazing! She always cares and is so perfectly firm with me on getting on my medical problems! I appreciate her beyond words!

May 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shim is amazing. She helped figure out that I had cervical ca. She is generous with her time and attention, and truly cares.

April 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good!

March 21, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel very confident with Dr.Shims care and treatment quality. She is extremely knowledgeable, a good listener, and has a pleasant bedside manner. I'm grateful to have her as my physician.

March 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr.Shim & her assistant were wonderful!

March 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very very good. [name]

December 13, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

A great Doctor and excellent support staff of RN's. Thanks [name]

November 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Shim is an outstanding doctor. She was very through in her examination and questions as to what my problems were. I have nothing but confidence in her.

October 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shim listen's to what I want, not just what she thinks.

September 28, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Good!

April 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shim and her MA were both very thorough and made me feel like I was more than a number. I felt they really cared about my health and well being.

March 09, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This doctor is the BEST.

March 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Shim is always extremely capable, and competent. She is always interested and concerned with my welfare. She asks questions and waits for my answer.

February 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shim has been an excellent communicator. She is willing to take the time to discuss the details of my concerns in a way which makes me feel confident that she understands me as an individual and my needs as an individual. She is a most valued professional connection.

January 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My first visit with Dr. Shim. She was knowledgeable. efficient and a clear communicator. A good experience.

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shim assisted me my overall Medicare care assessment. *Dr. Shim listened to my personal feelings and made recommendations regarding my concerns. She asked appropriate probing questions to help me understand possible health goals. I appreciate her professional demeanor and proactive healthcare advice.

January 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

adore Dr Shim!

December 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Brenda Shim is excellent!

December 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very lucky to have Dr. Shim as my care provider - she is compassionate, very knowledgeable and a wonderful person.

December 01, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shim is an exemplary doctor and a kind and caring person.

November 21, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

a lovely, caring doctor

November 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think Dr. Shim is an awesome provider. She is thorough but works quickly and generally my appointments are always on time. She listens and evaluates my concerns and makes quick and appropriate referrals. I am lucky to have her!

November 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shim. is best doctor that I've ever had.

October 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very happy with *Dr. Shim. I like her because she is not an alarmist. She bases diagnosis on facts by doing tests and asking appropriate questions.

August 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel so lucky to have *Dr. Shim as my PCP!

August 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shimm listens and offers a discussion with me. I appreciate her attention

July 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really appreciated the discussion and suggestions about my conditions that Dr. Shim provided and her sympathetic approach to my questions.

June 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shim is caring and very professional best doctor ever had.

May 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm very happy with her as my primary doctor.

May 24, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shim is an excellent doctor - the best I have ever had.

May 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

no complains. Dr. Shim takes her time to do her job with due attention to her patients

May 12, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Doctor Shim is the best doctor I have had in a while.

May 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I do appreciate the doctor I *Shim and the nursing assitance for their warm caring and concern on my visit.

April 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Shim is wonderful

February 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love my doctor

February 04, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

We love *Dr. Shim!

January 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

i have recommended Dr. Shim to friends. // Dr. Shim is a wonderful doctor. She is the best!!

December 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I love Dr. Shim. She is kind, patient, thorough, knowledgeable and a very good detective. Everything a doctor should be.

December 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It is a 15 mile drive to see Doctor Brenda.... she's worth it!

December 10, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shim is so kind and understanding. I am very thankful for her and her staff. I always have a feeling of relief when I enter her office. I _____ she will do what is best for me.

December 07, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I really trust *Dr. Shim and appreciate the care she has given me over an extended period of time.

November 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very happy with Dr. Shim

November 16, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have recommended *Dr. Shim to many friends -

October 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Shim always very attentive to my concerns.

October 08, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love Brenda Shim!

September 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am impressed with my care provider and very satisfied.

September 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was the first time I had met Dr. Shim. Very, very impressed.

September 02, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Shim is an excellent doctor.

August 13, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

It was one stop shoping she had im in and out in 1 hour and even did things I was not there to do because they were due. I felt I got all my needs met and then some.

August 12, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have never had a Dr. In or outside of Kaiser make me feel the same trust as Dr. SHIM. Her appointments are very present. Dr.Ship's follow up with me are so detailed and thorough I know it is the most excellent care I have ever received. // I have had Kaiser as my insurance off and on through out my life. I am so over the top happy with the kind, efficient, intelligent care that I have received from Dr.Uhng-Choon Shim. I refer people to Kaiser as a result.

August 05, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was born in Seoul, South Korea and raised in Southern California. After a brief stint in the corporate world, I started a second career in medicine because I wanted a job that would stay interesting forever. I now live in Portland with my husband and two sons.

About my practice

I am one of the internal medicine primary care providers at the Kaiser Permanente Division Clinic. I think of myself as an educator more than anything else. My role is to give patients the information they need to make the best health decisions on their own behalf.

How I thrive

I thrive by working with my hands. Whether it's building a rocket ship with my kids or making hand-dipped truffles, creating something can be a powerful and fulfilling experience. In my free time, I love hiking and cooking with my two boys; pies are my specialty.

Medical School ?

University of Washington School of Medicine
Seattle

Medical Training ?

Internal Medicine
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland OR

Board Certification ?

Internal Medicine
American Board of Internal Medicine