Weitian Liu MD, PhD
4.7 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Westside Medical Office
2875 NE Stucki Ave
Hillsboro, OR 97124

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.7
Overall Score
  • 4.5
    Wait Time
  • 4.7
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.7
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 76 Ratings
  • 25 Comments

Great experience with *Dr. Liu.

April 20, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Liu spent a lot of time with me. He showed great _____ & care appreciate his help. Also speaks Mandarin!

March 28, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Liu asked probing questions, gave attention to replies, answered thoughtfully, and gave examples/answered concern honestly. // could not comment on medications as this will be discussed after Colonoscopy. Dr Liu confidence and experience waylaid concerns.

December 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very comfortable with *Dr. Liu... I feel I am in good hands.

November 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Liu provided excellent medical care professionally & with courtesy & kindness.

August 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Liu is an amazing GI doctor. I have a complicated health history/issues and he has always been amazing. It has been a very very long year with my [diagnosis] and *Dr. Liu took such good care of me and I am now on my way to living a long happy life!!!

July 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Liu is an Amazing doctor!!! He has always answered my emails, my questions, squeezed me into his schedule, called me etc!!!

June 05, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Liu is very good and I like him as my GI dr.

June 01, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Liu is an amazing doctor!! He goes above & beyond his doctor duties and ALWAYS responds to my email extremely quick. Thank you *Dr. Liu!!!

May 02, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Liu is a wonderful doctor. I have a rare gastro disease, and he is an expert in its management & care.

March 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor.

January 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Liu is an amazing GI doctor. Very caring & genuinely concerned. Also beyond excellent at responding to emails!!!

December 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My meeting with *Dr. Liu was excellent in all regards.

October 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Although a colonoscopy is not fun *Dr. Liu and the staff were wonderful.

October 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Liu's bilingual staff definitely is a plus of this visit. He knows the cultural issues and is well informed of the subject!

September 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Liu is a very knowledgeable doctor. I am very glad to meet him and appreciate his help.

July 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I wish *Dr. Liu were my Primary Care Doc. He was sympathetic, and offered several suggestions that have been very helpful. An EXTREMELY positive visit.

June 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Liu is incredible. Very caring/concerned/great listener and very nice.

June 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Liu is a very kind person. He was willing to explain things thoroughly, as well talk to me about various options for treatment.

June 06, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt comfortable and heard by *Dr. Liu. He is a great listener and I'm very pleased to have him as my doctor.

May 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Liu is a fabulous doctor on all levels.

April 22, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Liu is the first specialist I have been to who listened, made a plan with me and told me, "we will solve this mystery."

December 28, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Liu was just great.

December 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Liu was very patient & sensitive to my concerns -

November 18, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Liu is excellent in all areas! That is also true of his staff. *Dr. Liu is professional, very competent and knowledgeable and takes time with his patients - their concerns are listen to and explained in a way the patient understands.

October 14, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I graduated from Shanghai Medical University (current Fudan University Medical Center) in 1989, then I was trained at Shanghai Zhongshan Hospital in Internal Medicine Residency and Gastroenterology Fellowship (1989-1995); in the meantime, I got my PhD of Medical Science of Gastroenterology. I worked as a gastroenterologist in the same hospital for over a year (1995-1996), then I came to the United States worked as Postdoctoral Associate at Cornell University (1996-2002). From 2002-2005, I was re-trained in Internal Medicine Residency at the University of South Dakota School of Medicine. After that, I entered a Gastroenterology Fellowship Program at the Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School. In June 2008, after my Gastroenterology Fellowship training, I joined Kaiser Permanente Northwest as a gastroenterologist. At Kaiser Permanente, patient care is our first priority. I love Kaiser Permanente.

About my practice

I was fortunate to get the opportunity to work at Northwest Permanente Gastroenterology Department. We have a wonderful collegial group providing excellent gastroenterology and hepatology service. Specifically, I do general gastroenterology and hepatology consultation in GI Clinic; I perform upper endoscopy (with biopsy, stricture or ring dilation, polypectomy-polyp removal, esophageal variceal ligation-banding, Argon Plasma Coagulation-APC and cauterization treatment for bleeding control, etc.), colonoscopy (with polyp removal; cauterization, APC or clipping for bleeding control; stricture dilation, etc.), liver biopsy, paracentesis (belly fluid removal), percutaneous endoscopic gastrostomy-PEG placement, and capsule endoscopy (capsule video camera to check small intestine).

How I thrive

I have a beautiful wife and two handsome sons (a freshman in high school and a preschooler). After work, family is my priority; I spend a lot of my spare time with my family. I enjoy teaching my sons Chinese language (although they may not enjoy that much); we go to the library and book stores frequently, and we travel to different areas a few times a year. I also enjoy doing some clinical work during my off days, such as making some phone calls to my patient s for follow-up, checking lab results, or replying to patient emails.

Medical School ?

Shanghai Medical University
Shanghai
China

Medical Training ?

Gastroenterology
Brigham and Women's Hospital
Boston MA

Internal Medicine
University of South Dakota School of Medicine
Vermillion SD

Medical Science/Gastroenterology
Shanghai Medical University
Shanghai China

Board Certification ?

Gastroenterology
American Board of Internal Medicine