Zakary S. Hoffelt MD
4.8 / 5
(503) 813-2000
Salmon Creek Medical Office
14406 NE 20th Ave.
Vancouver, WA 98686

Contact my office

Rating Details Details
4.8
Overall Score
  • 4.4
    Wait Time
  • 4.8
    Included in Decisions
  • 4.8
    Concern for Worries
  • 4.8
    Explanations
  • 4.7
    Time with Patient

The Patient Rating score is an average of all responses to physician related questions on our nationally-recognized Press Ganey Patient Satisfaction Survey. Responses are measured on a scale of 1 to 5, with 5 being the best score. Comments also are gathered from this Patient Satisfaction Survey. Patients are de-identified for confidentiality and patient privacy. The comments are submitted by patients and reflect their views and opinions. The comments are not endorsed by and don’t necessarily reflect the views of Kaiser Permanente.

About Reviews

  • 415 Ratings
  • 87 Comments

I could not be more pleased.

August 03, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very informative and confident in how he could help me!

August 02, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am so happy to give this evaluation for *Dr. Hoffelt. He has been particularly well deserving of this. He is very knowledgeable, caring, kind and sensitive regarding the patient. Actually, he is my favorite doctor at the clinic. He always seems to be happy to see me & even though I only see him every 3-6 months, he is very friendly and very professional.

July 31, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt and his team are superb. He did cataract surgery on me [date] and I saw the same expertise and coordination.

July 27, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffeldt is very pleasant. He doesn't make you feel rushed and took time to answer my questions.

July 19, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent doctor

July 13, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very impressed with the dr. he was caring and thorough. He's great!!!

June 26, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffelt is open and shares information clearly and thoroughly; I have confidence in the high quality of his care.

June 05, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love this guy!

May 25, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt is excellent. He cares a lot and it comes through in his while way of practicing his craft. He can't cure glaucoma which is my problem but he try's as hard as he can to keep it in check and for that I thank him.

May 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

good

April 10, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt was very personable & expressed great confidence in being able to improve my eye sites he made me feel comfortable that he was the "right man for the job".

March 23, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor is always so friendly and gives me clear info that I feel like we are working tigether for my health - which is not always an easy thing to do.

February 15, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

answered ALL my question

January 30, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very impressed he took the time to write down my daughters name and remember for my appt. just another way of showing he cares about me and my health.

January 18, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffelt is a great physician. I drive 40 minutes beyond another Kaiser clinic, just to be sure I met with him.

January 16, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt never appears rushed, and takes time to answer my questions.

January 12, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am highly impressed by him. He is great!

January 04, 2018

Was this review helpful?   Yes

great!

December 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I felt *Dr. Hoffelt was personable and concerned about my eye health and put me in line for cataract surgery.

December 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Medical assistant moved me through the several exams quickly and cordially, and very soon after, Dr. Hoffeldt entered. He always proceeds in a pleasant and thorough manner. // Dr. Hoffeldt has my utmost respect and trust. I have indeed recommended the Ophthalmology practice and Dr. Hoffeldt specifically to others.

December 08, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Zakary made me feel very calm & secure. He is a WONDERFUL person and he CARES.

November 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Hoffelt is a wonderful provider. my case has had some difficulties and he had been superb in recognizing and owing these challenges. Yes he is a great Physician but what makes the real difference is how one is treated when difficulties occur. I could not ask for a better physician // Dr Hoffelt connected all the hand offs for me. he made things happen and that really gained my confidence

October 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffelt's analysis and description of my probable future needs for glasses was better than expected.

October 24, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Hoffelt is excellent.

October 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My doctor is fabulous!!! Thank you.

October 12, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent doctor

October 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have cataracts and glare issues. I am extremely nervous about surgery, *Dr. Hoffelt appears to be the "right" doctor for nervous me. I feel much more confident about the upcoming, medical procedure after consulting with him. I think Kaiser is lucky to have him on staff.

October 06, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffeldt is exceptional. I have the utmost confidence in his excellence as a physician and surgeon, and I have told several acquaintances (whose eye conditions are similar to mine) about Dr. Hoffeldt specifically and the outstanding Kaiser Ophthalmology enterprise in general.

September 07, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

This was my first appt. w/*Dr. Hoffelt and I am very impressed with his knowledge and concern. He looked at the answers & concerns I talked to his asst. about & addressed each one - he explained & then cared for my eye right away. Thank you.

August 29, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I think he is one of the best doctors I have seen at Kaisers. I would tell anyone to go to him for any thing to do with your eyes. It was my first time seeing him. I loved his manner, his talking in plain language so I understood everything. his bedside manner at the hospital to talk to you and reassuring you everything is going to be ok. Just a great doctor. I would recommend him to anyone who ask.

August 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hafelt is great.. He explains things well. Listens well. He is a super surgeon, and I am very happy.

July 11, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

However Dr Hoffelt earned my respect and confidence; he gave me very helpful information about the procedure as well as some issues I may experience as a result of the age of my cataract. and he treated me with respect.

June 23, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Kaul is very thorough, looks up past history. He is very easy to talk with and gives in detail explanations and answers.Give him an A+

June 22, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I've only seen him once but he remembered me and was interested in my life not just my eye

June 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr Hoffelt inspires complete confidence - I'm happy to drive from... to... to see him. If there were a category "6" - better than very good, I would have used that.

June 15, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt was patient and answered all my concerns. He is very professional and caring. *Dr. Hoffelt takes the time to do an excellent office visit.

April 10, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Hoffer is one of the best In examining ,explaining procedures, surgery ,follow up genuine concern ,absolutely great

April 04, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

From the first consultation with Dr. Hoffelt, I felt comfortable and assured that he was an excellent choice for my eye surgery.

March 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

could not ask for anyone better !!

March 21, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffelt is the BEST!

February 14, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt was friendly and kind and knew what he needed to do right away and the examination was completed. Allowing time for any questions and concerns.

February 03, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased with my experience with Dr. Hoffelt and his staff.

January 20, 2017

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt has always been good about explaining, answering questions and making me feel like his care is quality.

December 08, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I always have a good experience with Dr. Hoffelt. He is very professional, sympathic, very helpful in making my decisions about my eye care.

November 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellent provider - one of the best I have seen @ Kaiser. I felt confident leaving the office. Good listener - both the Dr. and his assistant. Excellent skills and communicator.

November 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Always a good experience to see Dr. Hoffelt.

November 10, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffout is the best Dr. I have encountered at the Kaiser system, he is very knowledgeable, has the best bed side manners and he has saved my sight.

October 27, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Hoffelt is a very caring doctor and easy to talk to.

October 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I appreciated that the doctor provided and explained the options available for treatment. Had I requested additional follow up and referrals he was ready to do that but as a result of time spent together and good explanations we decided to monitor the situation. Thank you.

September 23, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt was very kind and respectful! She was very gentle and looked at me... in my eyes when speaking to me! He is a special doctor! I am blessed to have him as my surgeon... cataract procedures.

August 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Love Dr. Hoffelt.

August 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

he was very soft spoken and well versed in what he had to say and explain to me...

August 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt is the BEST doctor I have had an experience in caring for my health in many many years in every aspect of our relationship and his expertise. I rate him excellent not just very good. He is always kid, gentle, listens to me and discusses clearly and honestly every possible course of action we could take.

August 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I was very pleased.

July 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

excellent clinician

June 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I feel fortunate to be Dr. Hoffeldt's patient. He accepts any and all questions, answers them completely and at an appropriate technical level, and he openly communicates both good and less favorable findings with sensitivity. Dr. Hoffeldt has my complete confidence as a care provider and surgeon.

June 17, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

they got me in on time and the service and Doctor were great

June 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

An excellent doctor. Takes the time to listen to your concerns and came up with a treatment that really worked. I have had dry eye problems and he found and gave me the right treatment that worked! I trust him and the treatment I receive.

May 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Hoffelt is an excellent Dr. He is pleasant an and very thoughtful of keeping track of my pressure.

May 09, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Better than Great!

April 19, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

i felt very comfortable with Dr. Hoffelt. He conveyed a sense of concern and used language that I understood. // Open communications with Dr. Hoffelt was appreciated.

April 11, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

So relieved to find a doctor experienced with Glaucoma. I was very impressed with Dr. Hofflet's responses to all my questions and explanation of what would happened next.

March 31, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very good.

March 28, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffelt has my complete confidence. He does not talk down to me or otherwise simplify answers to my questions. I feel very lucky to have been assigned to his care.

March 18, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

My cataract surgery was a complete success without issue, Dr. Hoffelt was (obviously) very experienced and a professional as well as a gentleman.

March 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He misunderstood one of my questions and didn't really answer with the specifics I wanted. But it wasn't a problem for me.

February 26, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Best yet!

February 16, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffelt and [name] always seem to be prompt.

February 15, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Dr. Hoffelt was friendly, relaxed & comforting. Explained options and defined a target scheduled for cataract surgery. He was very likeable & reassuring!

February 05, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Very kind and caring and knowledgeable! Took tiime and answered all my questions.

February 02, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have complete confidence in Dr. Hoffelt. He explains to me what course of action he recommends and ask for my opinion. I am never unsure because I do trust him and his judgment. He is the very best! [name]

January 29, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr Hoffeldt is thorough, friendly and efficient. He is a pleasure to visit.

January 14, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I have LONG term issues, and he understands me

January 07, 2016

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffelt was wonderful. He answered all my questions and gave me options of care. He gets 5 gold stars!

December 21, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Friendly, caring knowledgeable care.

December 11, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

*Hoffett treating me for more than 1 reason - Very caring.

November 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Dr. Hoffelt was easy to talk to and the visit went well. I would return to him for my follow up appt., if needed.

November 06, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Excellence in every way. *Dr. Hoffelt very professional & user friendly.

November 03, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As always excellent service from Dr. Hoffelt and staff.

October 30, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

Great doctor! Made me feel at ease about my problems.

October 19, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

The best of care, always from *Dr. Hoffelt.

October 01, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I am very pleased with Dr. Hoffelt. Each time I come in he shows care and interest in any thing I bring up as concerning or any question at all.

September 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

it is good

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I had complete trust in Dr. Hoffelt. // Dr. Hoffelt was always on time with his appointments which I appreciated very much.

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

He is one of the most caring and thorough physicians in your system. I wish he worked full time at the Clackamas Clinic. // I had an excellent experience during my visit with my physician,

September 17, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

As noted on the previous page, the doctor needs to wash his hands before checking eye pressure.

August 24, 2015

Was this review helpful?   Yes

I'm from the small town of Brookings in South Dakota. It was during my years in college in South Dakota that I developed a fascination with eyes and the intricacy and delicacy associated with eye care. A series of events brought my wife and me to Portland in 2008. We've since fallen in love with our new city. We have a young daughter who has the uncanny ability to brighten even the greyest of Portland winter days.

About my practice

I am specialty trained in glaucoma eye care. I enjoy my work because it gives me the ability to interact longitudinally with patients on a very personal level, yet also allows me to utilize my technical skill though glaucoma surgery. I treat all adult forms of glaucoma, both surgically and medically. Though my focus is on glaucoma, I also treat the full range of eye diseases and am proficient in cataract surgery as well as a broad range of laser procedures. I serve the entire Kaiser Permanente Northwest region, but I work primarily at Clackamas and Salmon Creek in Washington.

How I thrive

I thrive day to day and week to week by creating balance in my life. My job is demanding and when I work, I work hard. When the work is done, however, I take time to do the things I enjoy from hiking and biking to listening to live music to attending Timbers games to exploring the city with my wife and daughter.

Medical School ?

University of South Dakota School of Medicine
Vermillion

Medical Training ?

Glaucoma
Devers Eye Institute
Portland OR

Ophthalmology
University of Missouri (Columbia) School of Medicine
Columbia MO

Board Certification ?

Ophthalmology
American Board of Ophthalmology